The Glamorous Life

I don’t know if you have noticed this yet about me, but I have a tendency to love really expensive things…but then just make something myself that looks just like it.

I have been on a kick lately that I needed pattern in my bedroom.

This is what we were working with. We’ve got lots of browns, and then some sort of floral/ paisley pattern. It was not very male appropriate. I would often feel bad for Adam watching him remove a yellow flowery throw pillow in order to go to bed.

Saturday I decided to change all of that. We woke up at 8:30a, and hit the ground running. I wanted a crisp white bed, but a patterned headboard and footboard. Now those run a pretty penny if you decide to buy. But what do I need a completely new bed for? Mine was perfectly fine…just needed a face lift!

We headed to Target first. I really like their curtains and comforter patterns, so I thought it would be a good place to start. One throw pillow, two jewelry holders, and a pack of jelly beans later I concluded my journey without any fabric.

Adam and I headed to about 17 other places, included a ginormous fabric store which I spent 2.5 hours in (yes I was continually reminded of that while I was in there) only to leave empty-handed. I really thought this was going to be an easy project. I mean I thought I had pretty good taste, why was I finding absolutely nothing!?

As 9pm rolled around, I was being nagged by the 6 foot 2 man-child next to me that he was hungry. I should probably go ahead and alert you that when I am in project mode, eating does not happen. I get so caught up in the whirl wind, and I’m pretty sure I convince myself that if I were to stop and grab a bite to eat, at that very moment a design diva would swoop in and grab the very last perfect something that I had been searching for. Eating is not an option.

I begged and pleaded to go to Target one last time (12 hours later and back to the starting point). As I sat on the floor in the curtain isle, I spread all of the colors of my room all over the ground, and grabbed a trellis-like grey/blue pattern curtain and tossed it into the mix. It was perfect. It was classy, grown-up, gender neutral, and just plain perfect.

Here is the finished project:

So that was my entire Saturday. I made a bed for $30 that probably would have cost me somewhere in the range of $300-$3000 depending on the location. I have chosen to delete the cost of feeding your significant other in this total cost.

The only break we took was to take sneak photos of Gloria as she got engaged! I am so excited for you two!!

Hope you all had a fabulous weekend as well!

Christine

3 thoughts on “The Glamorous Life

Leave a Reply

