The Way To A Man’s Heart…

Is through his stomach!

After 7 years together, we are absolutely horrible at keeping secrets from each other. I don’t know how people who have been married for 20 years do it!

Saturday was EXTREMELY cold (about 20 degrees), but my fabulous man had the brilliant idea to go up to the outdoor outlets. Perfect. He only has one day off a week that I even get to see him, so I thought why not.

While he meandered into another store that I begged him to go into without me, I ran into another store to get a wallet for him that I knew he’d been dreaming about. I’m not a super huge fan of super expensive brands…but the boy has expensive taste. That’s all I’m saying.

While I am begging the associate to hurry up, saying that I snuck away for one moment and that it is difficult to get a moment alone…who do I see walking in the door but the little snoop himself. I essentially hurled my credit card at the women and threw the wallet under a plethora of tissue paper. I told him it was a wallet for me (he basically knew I was lying).

After 30 minutes in the car, I was basically tired of keeping the secret. Plus he was saying how much he loved one of the wallets in the store. So at the next stop light I handed it to him. Phew…a whole 30 minutes…way longer than I thought I would last with that secret.

Having spoiled that one, I knew the next best thing as a present would be food. He works all day on Sundays, so I baked! I also baked because I couldn’t think of any new furniture to build. Now he will have a yummy surprise when he gets home from work that will maybe last him 3 days!

Recipe of the evening: Butter Cake with a cherry glaze, and a chocolate buttercream frosting.

Icing:

1 stick butter

5 T cocoa

1lb confectioner’s sugar

1tsp vanilla

1/4 cup milk

Melt butter gradually in microwave. In a separate bowl, mix cocoa and sugar. Add melted butter, vanilla, and milk. Beat at low speed until mixed well and peaks form.

Cake:

3 cups all-purpose flour

1/4 teaspoon salt

3/4 teaspoons baking powder

1 1/2 cups butter

2 1/2 cup white sugar

5 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 cup milk

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line cupcake pan with cups. Sift together the flour, salt, and baking powder. Cream the butter and blend in the white sugar, eggs, and vanilla. Beat until light and fluffy. Add the sifted dry ingredients to the creamed mixture alternately with the milk. Stir until just blended. Pour batter into prepared cups. Bake for 20 minutes. Remove from pan and allow them to cool.

Cherry Glaze:

Cherry Jello

Water

Cook Jello according to package, except do not let it sit quite yet. Once the cake is cooled, poke about 5 holes in each cake with the end of a wooden spoon. Slowly drizzle each cupcake until it is soaking with the jello (I do about 3 large spoonfuls per cake. Set cupcakes in the fridge for about 3 hours.

Once Jello is set, pipe icing on and sprinkle with chocolate decor.

Leave a Reply

