Wallpaper: In or Out?

I completely vote “In”. I absolutely love wallpaper. I think it is a great way to add texture and drama to a wall. It is a little finicky to install…but worth it if installed correctly.

I do love me some wallpaper… but it just isn’t always an option. Maybe you are in a temporary place so gluing random pieces of decorative paper to the wall is not really an option, or maybe installing it just isn’t really going to happen for you.

Another option is to use fabric. Take a few 2×4’s and make a square frame. Also, attach another piece of wood to the wall with some screws. This will provide a stable environment for your frame to rest on.

Your frame can be as small or large as you want. You could do a few on one wall with coordinating patterns, or one large fabric covered frame.

Next, pick out your favorite fabric. The pattern should be fairly large in order to make the wall not appear too busy.

I love a good lattice pattern!

For my frame, I actually used a fabric shower curtain. It was $20 from Target…and I knew I wouldn’t be able to find that much fabric for that cheap.

What have we learned? Wallpaper is wonderful, but fabric is better for us people who like to change things frequently.  I mean wallpaper is pretty permanent, and I am definitely not one to let something sit stationary without being decorated for a long time 🙂

Tomorrow, I will show you what I did with my fabric covered frame!

Leave a Reply

