Keep Calm & Carry On

I have always loved this phrase…it just seems to be so fitting to life in general. Rough patches happen, but you just have to move on. Enough Hallmark for now though.

I have had a lot of inquiries about a particular mirror in my home. I wanted to use this phrase somewhere, but I didn’t think the usual format would be fitting for my decor. You usually see these on a bright-colored background with stark white writing.

My space, however, was too small for this contrast. I needed something that would bounce light to make the area appear larger. Lightbulb – Mirrors are perfect for this!

I bought a $15 large mirror from Homegoods (my absolute favorite store), a frosting paint kit from Michaels, and I scrounged up some 3″ letter stencils I had left over from a previous craft escapade.

This project can be done a couple of different ways. You could also do the inverse, leaving the letters mirrored and the remaining majority of the mirror frosted if you are wanting this to be more of an art piece rather than utilizing it to bounce light.

I have this mirror leaned up against a DIY fire-less fireplace. I think it proves to be a good focal point, and keeps the room feeling bright.

Let me know if you try it…or if you have tried any other versions of this!

Happy Styling!

Christine

One thought on “Keep Calm & Carry On

Leave a Reply

